January in Alaska.

Standard

Many people I talk to around the world often ask me the same question, “Is it really dark there right now, for 6 months right?”. Well, yes and no. We actually start to gain light slowly in January. While there is light, it is often very cloudy, which makes everything look much darker than it actually is. Seasonal depression has a way of showing up and making life seem that way too.

I hate that part. The part when you can’t see the light and even when it shows up for a little while, you don’t recognize it anymore. You hold your arm up over your eyes and it takes you a while to remember the joy the sun brings. ESPECIALLY when you are trying to drive and it’s shining directly into your eyes and beaming off of the bright banks of snow. It’s the whitest light you have EVER seen and it can seriously start to piss you off!

It’s a tough time of year for us all I think. We just spent the holidays with loved ones and now it’s back to 5 days a week, 9-5 grind, trying to focus on whatever our “New Year, New Me” goals are.

I’ve started working out in the mornings, and I am NOT a morning person. However, I am working towards running a marathon in June and in order to do that, I’ve got to achieve certain fitness goals. So that means not missing workouts and morning is the one time I am too tired to make excuses. But holy fuck, I am tired. I am tired in my bones. I am the kind of tired they say sleep can’t fix. Which is why I’ve got to keep getting up, going out into the dark and cold weather, making it to the gym, etc. I’ve got to be relentless about the promises I made to myself. These are the most important promises we make. If you don’t keep them, who will?

What I am trying to say is, I get it. It’s hard. We are all going through something, and that just means we are going somewhere right? Right! Keep your head up beautiful.

XoXo

What happens if you don't:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

